Project 2 Recording and capturing

Exercise 1.3 Making marks

Sketchbook

continued…

More mark making experiments in my sketchbook. I also used some basic printing/stenciling as well. Below – I used a comb, a matchstick on its side, the ends of a bunch of matchsticks tied together, the end of a nerf dart, the edge of a piece of card cut with pinking shears, a springy clothes peg on its end. I also used some bubble wrap to print and make marks, and some sequin waste which I used as a simple stencil.

2016-05-04 12.31.23.jpg

It was difficult for me to distinguish the difference between mark making, and printing as I believe they run in close proximity. But I carried on having fun making marks using a feather, glue spreader, drinking straw, toothbrush, the edge of a store card, a teasel plant, end of a pencil, a scrunched up piece of paper, plastic chip fork, a piece of string, homemade raffia brush, and a small pom pom.

I also made marks by printing with a multi link cube, a cotton reel, sponging, and used some handmade paper to print/stencil through.

2016-05-04 12.29.08.jpg

Exercise 1.3 Making Marks

These are my drawings based on my three archival pieces.

Piece – 1

The Ivory Waistcoat. I used acrylic to paint the waistcoat on cartridge paper, using my homemade raffia brush, glue spreader and shop loyalty card. I used heavy thick marks to represent the sturdiness of the garment.

2016-05-04 13.28.39

Piece – 2

I tried to capture the detail on the front of the waistcoat using various tools with acrylic paint on thin cardboard. I used a piece of curved card to create the flowers, and a glue spreader to create the diamond shapes. I used the end of a pencil to create the sequin detail and a feather to create the whispy edges of the braiding. I also used a toothbrush to create the tassels.

2016-05-04 13.29.12

Piece – 3

In this picture I tried to capture the detail on the shoulder of the bullfighters jacket. The shoulder is embellished using gold threads, sequins and gemstones. I used the edge of a piece of cardboard to capture the pattern of the gold threads, and cotton reels and the end of a pencil to make marks to represent the sequins and gems.

2016-05-04 13.29.55.jpg2015-10-22 12.34.01

Piece – 4

In this drawing I tried to draw the tassels and gold work and gem detail on the front of the bullfighters jacket, using charcoal on cartridge paper. I tried to capture the light and reflection in the gems by using circular marks the with the charcoal.

2016-05-04 13.31.06

Piece – 5

In this piece I tried to capture the embroidery on the front of the cape using a acrylic paint and a cotton bud. I also used a toothbrush to create the flowers.

2016-05-04 13.32.14

Piece – 6

I again tried to capture a more magnified picture of the embroidered flowers on the parade cape. I used acrylic paint to make marks with a piece of card which I had cut with pinking shears to create a zig zag edge. I also used a glue spreader to create the foliage.

2016-05-04 13.32.52

Piece – 7

In this piece I sketched the rough shape of the parade cape, and tried to capture the drape of the fabric. I used tracing paper and a graphite stick, as I believe the paper represents the lightweight fabric of the cape.

2016-05-24 14.11.01

Piece – 8

Here I tried to capture the embroidery of the Lady Guadalupe on the parade cape. I used poster paint on cartridge paper, and used cotton buds, a feather, scrunched up paper and a chip fork to create marks.

2016-05-17 10.57.25

Piece – 9

Here I tried to capture the detail on the sleeve of the bullfighters jacket. I made marks using a plastic chip fork to create the foliage and flowers, and a rawl plug to represent the sequins.

2016-05-17 11.03.37

Piece – 10

In this piece I used marks to create the outline and some of the detail on the front of the bullfighters jacket. I made marks with poster paint, using a pom pom, the end of a pencil and a toothbrush.

2016-05-17 11.13.25

Piece – 11

In this piece I used a large permanent marker pen on cartridge paper to create marks in order to create a close up picture of the flowers on the cape.

2016-05-17 10.58.23

Piece – 11

In This piece I used a black felt tipped pen to create small dashed marks. I tried to capture the full shape and elements of the design of the bullfighters jacket.

2016-05-24 14.11.35.jpg

Piece – 12

I used a black pastel pencil on smooth white foam board to create marks to represent the frayed braiding on the ivory waistcoat, and decorative detail. I also tried to capture the grain and texture of the fabric used.

2016-05-24 15.57.00.jpg

Piece – 13

In this piece I made marks using a quadrate charcoal stick. I tried to capture the circular shapes of the sequins, by twisting around the stick on its side. I then made shorter marks to represent the gold work threads holding the sequins together.

2016-05-24 16.00.07

 

2 thoughts on “Project 2 Recording and capturing

Leave a comment